A Killer Experience

Hi guys! I’m super excited about this post. It’s about when I went to see The Killers at Hyde Park. Yeah, sorry for the title pun.

The day was just incredible. Probably the best day of my life. My dad and I took the train to London, which in itself was exciting. We dropped bags off at a hotel we’d booked a room at and started making our way to the festival area, via the underground. And the whole time I was thinking: this is really it. I’m going to see them live. The band I have loved for years, the music I know so well, every lyric- I’M REALLY GONNA SEE THE KILLERS LIVE!

We reached entered the festival area at about half 12, and The Killers weren’t performing until quarter past eight, so we had a long time to enjoy the festival. One of the first things we did was hit the merch stall, where I bought a British Summer Time Killers t shirt. Then, as we were very hungry, we started looking for something suitable for lunch. I bought some mac ‘n’ cheese with added bacon- it was delicious and I’m not ashamed to say I ate the entire, huge, cheesy serving by myself. My dad had a chicken burger. It was sunny, so we sat in dappled shade on a picnic bench. It was so lovely.

There were music performances throughout the day, 15 in total, some by fairly unknown bands on the smaller stages around the park. We were lucky enough to get a wristband which allowed us access to the area closest to the stage. From this vantage point we enjoyed watching The Strypes and The Mystery Jets, neither of whom I knew before, but the music was good and the atmosphere was awesome.

We wanted to get as close as we could to the stage for the last three performances, the ones by the biggest bands. We first bought dinner. I wanted something more light than my lunch of mac ‘n’ cheese, so we went to this vegan sushi van. It was selling sushi wraps- imagine seaweed-wrapped sushi, but longer and wider. It was so cool! I had avocado as the main filling- it hit the spot. By then I was seriously excited- The Killers were only a few hours away.

We got to a really good spot close to the stage and watched Tears for Fears, then Elbow, perform. Elbow were particularly good at getting the crowd going; there was a reverse Mexican wave where the people at the front ducked down and it continued all the way to the back. We didn’t want to leave between the acts in case we couldn’t find each other again or we lost our place close to the stage, so we stuck it out. My feet were killing me from standing up for multiple hours, and it was agonizing watching the stage crew set up for The Killers once Elbow had finished. I could hardly wait, I was so so so so so so so EXCITED!

Then…they came on stage! The crowd went wild, me included, whooping and cheering as loud as I could. A long note played, and then the bass and drums kicked in at the same time- BAM! And confetti flew out of cannons right on the beat. (The confetti was pink, to match Brandon Flowers’ pink leather jacket, of course.)

They played all of their biggest hits, plus lots of other songs. It was a rollercoaster of rock songs, where everyone was jumping up and down, to parts with just piano and Brandon singing. There was red and white confetti later on, as well as the pink at the start. It was everything I could have possibly ever hoped for. Their final song (Mr. Brightside) ended with fireworks.

Seeing The Killers perform was pretty much the only thing on my bucket list. There isn’t anything else I want to do as much. And now, it has happened- and it was so perfect. I can’t believe how close to the stage we were, the weather was lovely, it was so great to go to London with my dad, and all in all it was just amazing. I’m going to treasure the memories I have of that day forever. Whenever I listen to one of the songs they played, I’m like “Yes. I’ve seen this LIVE.”

20170708_215821

I’m so grateful that I got to go. I know how lucky I am!

Sunset

15 thoughts on “A Killer Experience

Leave a Reply

