Top Ten Reads of 2016

Yes, it’s late. Extremely late. But… I went to the effort of taking pictures. Plus, I love books! So here it is: a countdown of the best novels I read last year, and a tiny little review for each one. Read over half a year ago… But still! Enjoy!

10. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell


This was such a great read. Having loved Fangirl, I knew I’d enjoy the story of Simon and Baz. Some could argue it’s a little too Harry Potter but I think this is a great novel in its own right.

9. Demon Road by Derek Landy


So I’ll admit I only bought this as part of a 3 for 2. And that I wasn’t expecting to like it that much. But I was hooked. Following on from reading it I bought the next two in the trilogy- even the expensive hardback. It’s an easy but very thrilling read, and although to start with the characters were unconvincing I grew to love them. My only problem is that it became slightly over-the-top with the graphic gory scenes as the books progressed.

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis

Of course they were good. I’m shocked that I only bothered to read them last year!

7. The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

This, my mum bought for me after it being highly recommended to her. It was a nice YA dystopian novel that I read by staying up late (that’s how you know a book is good.)

6. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowlingwp-1485616457349.jpg

So, there’s a lot of controversy surrounding this book. Some hate it, others think it’s great- it’s a bit of a marmite situation. I, personally, LOVED IT! I thought it was a really refreshing new HP story. It’s like a fanfiction, but better, ’cause its REAL. (As real as fictional stories can be, anyway.)

5. The Novice by Taran Matharuwp-1485616474029.jpg

A seriously good book. The story- magic school, little dragon friend- sounds a bit cliché at first, but the book actually has important messages about racial prejudice within it. And, it contains a very well-constructed world within its pages. All round thumbs up.

4. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maaswp-1485616479566.jpg

This series is AMAZING, this book is AMAZING, can’t wait for more! If you haven’t read Throne of Glass, I would definitely recommend you give it a go.

3. Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralstonwp-1485616492593.jpg If you don’t recognise this, it’s the story of ‘127 Hours’- about a man who gets trapped in a canyon, being pinned in place by a rock, and resorts to cutting his arm off to escape. This is one of the books I read last year that has really stuck with me. It’s not just about Ralston’s time in the canyon, it’s also about his mountaineering and other outdoor pursuits- including a story about a bear which is terrifying. The film is great too, but the book (as always) is so much better!

2. Radio Silence by Alice Osemanwp-1485616487201.jpg

I don’t know how well known this book is. I didn’t know about it until I received it as a birthday present, and I don’t know anyone who’s read it. This is surprising, as it’s an incredible story! It revolves around a friendship between two teenagers. The main character is so relatable and it’s the second-best book I read last year. So… READ IT!

1. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseiniwp-1485616461855.jpg

Probably one of the most well known books on this list, and for good reason. The Kite Runner is…amazing. Powerful. You have to read it to know, but it is 100% worth the read.

 

Whirlwind tour of my 2016 books over! Whew! Have you read any of these books? Do you want to? Let me know in the comments.

Sunset x

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Reads of 2016

  1. RADIO SILENCE IS THE BEST THING!!!
    What’s your favourite book you’ve read so far this year?
    Sorry I’m just fangirling over Aled and ahhh I loved that book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so great isn’t it!! I love all the specific British detail in it as well. You don’t see that very often in books! The best book I’ve read so far this year is All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot. What about you?😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read that; what’s it about? And hmm… just trying to remember WHICH books I’ve read. Probably Radio Silence or When Dimple Met Rishi – or even maybe The Next Together… I love books basically

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t know any of those except radio silence, maybe I’ll read them 🙂 James Herriot has quite a lot of books and they’re all about his life as a vet in the Yorkshire Dales. They’re really witty and interesting (at least, the one I’ve read was)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I am fangirling over the prettiness of the colors of your Chronicles of Narnia 😍 I’ve read some of the books when I was a kid but I never got to finish the series. Hopefully I will.
    The Call looks interesting as well so I’m keeping an eye out of that in the bookstores!
    By the way, I love the color of (is that a comforter?) what you used as the background 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yeah, I love the Narnia books, they are super cuteee 😊 I think The Call is pretty underrated and deserves more reads! The background is a blanket that my sister bought me as a present. (Is a blanket the same as a comforter?) 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! Those colors are some great eye-candy 😍 Then I’ll certainly look for it! I love underrated books! They deserve reads and more lovin 💕 (I have no idea whoops hahaha 😅 I know people who call it a comforter and I know others who call it blanket, so whichever floats your boat is good 😀)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

