Dear Santa

You haven’t heard from me for a while. I’m sorry I haven’t continued to believe, but at age 15 that would be odd anyway.

This year, can you give all of my family and friends a lovely Christmas, give me the power to pass GCSEs, and try to make as many people happy as possible?

Stuff has been getting me down lately. I’ve been less tolerant of idiocy at school. I’m sick of my brother moaning. But despite all of this, I know I’m one of the luckiest people on the planet. Just to be able to type on this laptop is due to being lucky in many, many ways. They played ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ in the school lunch hall today. It’s got a message that really sticks with you, you know? I’ll be honest, I never really paid attention to it before 2014, when Bastille participated in Band Aid 30. But I haven’t forgotten it. It makes me feel sad, and guilty, and wonder what I could possibly even do about stuff like that. Also, it makes me feel fortunate.

Now, I’m seeing all the Christmas deals in the shops, and I’m trying hard not to be a huge consumer! I don’t want to be a greedy spoiled brat. I’m not giving up presents or anything. Just trying to be more thoughtful. So this year, I’m thinking more about what’s important.

Merry Christmas, Santa.

bloggingsunsets

Leave a Reply

